AMD Engineer Gabriel Loh Named 2018 Maurice Wilkes Award Winner for Outstanding Contributions to Die-Stacked Architectures

June 6, 2018 at 9:00 AM EDT

SANTA CLARA, Calif., June 06, 2018 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- AMD (NASDAQ:AMD) announced today that Gabriel Loh, PhD and AMD Fellow, is the 2018 recipient of the prestigious ACM SIGARCH Maurice Wilkes award based on his outstanding contributions to the advancement of die-stacked architectures. The annual Wilkes award honors individuals who significantly influence the computer architecture industry. The 2018 winner was announced at the International Symposium on Computer Architecture awards banquet on Tuesday, June 5.

The award is named after Sir Maurice Wilkes, a pioneer of computing systems who made fundamental contributions to the field early in his career. In honor of Wilkes, the award recognizes computer architecture innovations made by individuals within the first 20 years of their careers.

“I am very proud of Gabe and his achievements as one of the key members of the AMD Research team,” said Mark Papermaster, senior vice president of Technology and Engineering and CTO, AMD. “Gabe is a highly respected innovator within AMD and across the broader industry whose innovations in die-stacking are critical for advancing the industry and enabling new design possibilities.”

Loh earned his Master of Science in Computer Science in 1999 and his Doctor of Philosophy in Computer Science in 2002 from Yale University. After spending one year each at Intel and Microsoft as a researcher, and seven years teaching at Georgia Institute of Technology, Loh joined AMD in 2010. Loh was promoted to AMD Fellow in February 2013, an honor bestowed only to the most accomplished innovators at the company. During his AMD tenure he has made significant contributions. He was a key technical leader on teams that developed multiple research proposals for the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE), including co-leading the DOE PathForward exascale program, has developed critical technologies for reliable 3D-stacked memories, and has generated more than 60 granted U.S. patents. 

Prior award winners are leading professors, researchers, engineers, and designers in the computer design industry. Loh is the second AMD employee to win the Maurice Wilkes award since it first debuted in 1998. In 2003, former AMD CEO Dirk Meyer received the award for his significant architectural contributions to Alpha and x86 processor designs. A list of former award winners going back to 1998 can be found here.

About AMD

For more than 45 years, AMD has driven innovation in high-performance computing, graphics, and visualization technologies ― the building blocks for gaming, immersive platforms, and the datacenter. Hundreds of millions of consumers, leading Fortune 500 businesses, and cutting-edge scientific research facilities around the world rely on AMD technology daily to improve how they live, work, and play. AMD employees around the world are focused on building great products that push the boundaries of what is possible. For more information about how AMD is enabling today and inspiring tomorrow, visit the AMD (NASDAQ: AMD) website, blog, Facebook and Twitter pages.

AMD, the AMD Arrow logo and combination thereof are trademarks of Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Other names are for informational purposes only and may be trademarks of their respective owners.

Theresa Chavez
AMD Communications
(408) 749-4112

Primary Logo

Source: Advanced Micro Devices