AMD Appoints Dirk Meyer to Board of Directors


AMD (NYSE: AMD) today announced the appointment of AMD President and Chief Operating Officer Dirk Meyer to the board of directors. Meyer, who was promoted to his current role as President and COO in January 2006, continues to share leadership and management duties of AMD with Chairman of the Board and CEO Hector Ruiz. Meyer's election to the board took effect Nov. 1.

"Dirk has been a tremendous asset to the Office of the CEO and his appointment strengthens AMD's board of directors," said Ruiz. "Dirk has played an integral role in defining AMD's vision and strategy, helping make AMD the partner of choice for our customers and positioning the company for long-term growth and profitability."

Prior to his role as president and COO, Meyer served as president and chief operating officer of AMD's Microprocessor Solutions Sector where he had overall responsibility for AMD's microprocessor business, including product development, manufacturing, operations and product marketing.

Meyer joined AMD in 1995 and led engineering for the AMD Athlon(TM) microprocessor. In April 1999, he was promoted to vice president of engineering. In 2001, he was named group vice president, and in 2002 was named senior vice president and an executive officer of AMD.

Prior to AMD, Meyer spent nearly a decade at Digital Equipment Corporation, where he was co-architect of the Alpha 21064 and 21264 microprocessors.

Additional biographical information can be found here:,,51_52_570_11573,00.html

About AMD

Advanced Micro Devices (NYSE: AMD) is a leading global provider of innovative processing solutions in the computing, graphics and consumer electronics markets. AMD is dedicated to driving open innovation, choice and industry growth by delivering superior customer-centric solutions that empower consumers and businesses worldwide. For more information, visit

(C) 2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. AMD, the AMD Arrow logo and combinations thereof, are trademarks of Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Other names are for informational purposes only and may be trademarks of their respective owners.

Source: Advanced Micro Devices